Ravi Speaks …..

June 21, 2008

Sarkar Raj – Controversy over reviews

Filed under: Movies — uravishankar @ 7:13 am

It must have been known to the reader on how Ram gopal varma takes on his reviewers in his blog. It’s worth reading that blog since it shows the other side to what a critic chooses to speak. A film ,whether good or bad, is made with months and years of patience, hard work and investment. seeing his blog, i understand the frustration a film maker goes through when a critic speaks out of his/her whims assuming a mastery over cinema making. If a film maker is responsible to make a good film equal responsibility lies with critic to evaluate it honestly . I myself had an opportunity to watch Sarkar Raj on first day and it marked a possitive impression upon me though it is full of violence and murders. To my disappointment, the reviews are flat for this movie.

Though this blog of RGV is personnal it throws light on how casual critics are while writing about a movie. It’s useful for the reader to understand to what extent one should go with a reviewer. Sometimes, I too fall into the kind of confusion which RGV mentioned in the blog where i fail to understand whether critic is actually praising or complaining.  On the lighter side, I feel critics are overburdened to watch so many movies in a single day and to reach the targets by evening (since movies are released generally on friday ).

1 Comment »

  1. Varma is unique and he proved it again by taking on the critics. However, personal his blog might be, but it surely threw some bricks back at the critics. His attack on Khalid Mohammad was hilarious and best out of this lot. His satire on the wannabe film maker turned critic going around with her scripts was funny too.

    However, I don’t care a damn about critics. But, as an audience I don’t care about how much of money are energy went in to the film. All I need is my money’s worth. If I don’t find that….that’s a BAD FILM for me.

    Comment by కె.మహేష్ కుమార్ — June 21, 2008 @ 8:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.